Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill MLA Karen McPherson is joining the Alberta Party caucus.

McPherson, who was elected in 2015, left the NDP caucus earlier this month to sit as an independent.

"After having lots of conversations with both with constituents and with the Alberta Party board, president and of course the leader, Greg Clark, things line up really well," McPherson said Sunday. 

"A lot of our values are very similar and it's a good fit. And it's going to allow me to better represent the people in my constituency."

McPherson's decision means the Alberta Party will now have two MLAs in the legislative assembly.

Clark was elected the MLA for Calgary-Elbow in 2015 and has been the only elected Alberta Party member until now.

McPherson says she is excited by the possibility of building the party, which sits in the centre of the political spectrum.

She says the Alberta Party is a good option for people who are uncomfortable with the election of Jason Kenney as leader of the United Conservative Party.

Kenney's socially conservative views have already prompted some former Progressive Conservatives to join the Alberta Party, including former party executive director Troy Wason. 

The fall session of the legislative assembly starts Monday.

Articled from the CBC RSS Syndication - RSS Feeds Copyright is that of their respective owners (CBC).

Copyright 1996-2014 WestNet-HD Action News. A Division of WestNet Continental Broadcasting.
News Desk